Thesaurus Manager

Tool for creating and managing typologies. The application enables the graphical representation of hierarchical classifications and a definition of the individual nodes.

ThesaurusManager (TM) is used to create and manage typologies. In the TM, terms representing a topic can be defined and classified hierarchically. The resulting controlled vocabularies and thesauri can be integrated into a CIDOC-CRM-compatible ontology and are machine-readable with the help of SKOS. 

TM allows you to compare term-trees that belong to different namespaces. On the one hand, the comparisons can be aimed at content-related elements, such as the definition associated with a concept or the multilingual synonyms or original-language terms assigned to a concept label. On the other hand, trees can also be compared from a topological point of view. Users can draw cross-connections between the concepts of different namespaces, for example by specifying that a concept from namespace A is identical or related to a concept from namespace B. In addition, they can edit term-trees or concepts. That way, it is possible to move individual concepts and subtrees in the conceptual structure, and to newly create, to complete, to correct or to delete them. 

The TM supports forms of collaborative research. An access mode determines how the vocabulary is visible and by whom it can be changed (private, publicly visible, modifiable by others). The files of a TM vocabulary can be exported as LOD in different formats and can be processed further.

Thesaurus Manager

Outil de création et de gestion de typologies. Le logiciel permet de représenter graphiquement des classifications hiérarchiques et de définir les différents points de jonction.

Le ThesaurusManager (TM) sert à créer et gérer des typologies. Il permet de définir des notions liées à un domaine thématique et de les classer hiérarchiquement. Les vocabulaires et thésaurus contrôlés qui en résultent peuvent être intégrés dans une ontologie compatible avec le modèle sémantique de référence CIDOC CR et lisible en machine grâce au langage SKOS.

Le Thesaurus Manager permet de comparer des arborescences représentant différents espaces de noms. D’une part, les comparaisons peuvent porter sur des éléments de contenu, tels que des définitions ou des expressions similaires (dans différentes langues ou dans la langue originale) rattachées au même label terminologique. D’autre part, les arborescences peuvent également être comparées d’un point de vue topologique. Les utilisatrices et utilisateurs peuvent créer des liens entre les concepts relevant de différents espaces de noms. Ils peuvent notamment spécifier qu’une notion apparaissant dans l’espace A est identique ou apparentée à une autre mentionnée dans l’espace B. Ils peuvent en outre créer, modifier (compléter, corriger) ou effacer des arborescences et des concepts.

Le Thesaurus Manager soutient la recherche collaborative. Un mode d’accès détermine la manière dont les termes sont affichés et par qui ils peuvent être modifiés (privé, visibles pour tous, modifiable par d’autres utilisateurs). Les données du Thesaurus peuvent être exportées comme LOD (Linked Open Data) dans d’autres formats, puis modifiées.

Un compte utilisateur pour la MT peut être demandé à info@histhub.ch.