FAQ

General

histHub is for anyone working with historical data. histHub addresses the needs of researchers in the field of historical sciences as well as the needs of archives and libraries. Individuals are addressed in the same way as institutional bodies.

In the histHub authority database, feedback can be given directly on the display page of the search result. This function is designed for questions, suggestions and error messages concerning the respective data record. General feedback and suggestions can be communicated via the contact form.

No, histHub does not provide a working environment for your own projects. However, there are several ways to work with your own data at histHub. Thus, data can be recorded as authority files or existing authoriry files can be added (-> Importer). histHub-Lab also offers various tools to enrich and link data (-> Lab).

Net

The open-source-tool OpenRefine is ideal for data synchronization and data enrichment. histHub offers this tool in the lab. The Lab will soon provide other tools that can be used with own data. Database operators can also use Metagrid and GeoLinker networking tools.

histHub has integrated OpenRefine into the lab, because the tool allows many applications and is appreciated and used by a broad community. Especially for institutional users, installing openly developed software is not always easy. That’s why histHub offers OpenRefine in a browser version. In addition, there is an extensive blog series in the Lab with tips and instructions for OpenRefine.

Currently only OpenRefine is available. The lab is a flexible platform for existing tools and is geared to the needs of the users. Accordingly, the supply will widen and change over time. We accept any suggestions gladly.

Norm

Authority files can be directly downloaded from the data display page.

At histHub authority file must have a defined minimum of attributes and will be checked by experts.

Yes. histHub authority files are controlled, trusted and permanently saved. Each file has a permanent identifier.

Load More

FAQ

En général

histHub s’adresse à tous ceux qui travaillent avec des données historiques. La plateforme répond aux besoins des chercheurs dans le domaine des sciences historiques, des archives et des bibliothèques. histHub s’adresse donc aussi bien aux particuliers qu’aux institutions.

La base de données histHub offre la possibilité d’écrire des commentaires sur la page d’affichage des résultats d’une recherche. Cette fonction sert à soumettre les questions, les suggestions et les erreurs directement depuis la liste de résultats concernée. Les observations plus générales peuvent être communiquées via le formulaire de contact.

Non, histHub n’offre pas d’environnement de travail pour cela. Il y a toutefois plusieurs façons de travailler avec ses propres données sur histHub: il est possible d’enregistrer des données sous forme de notices d’autorité ou de compléter des notices existantes (-> Importer). histHub comprend en outre différents outils permettant d’ajouter des données et d’interconnecter ces dernières à d’autres données (-> Lab).

Net

Le logiciel libre OpenRefine, que l’on trouve sur la plateforme (laboratoire) histHub, est idéal pour comparer et enrichir des données. Vous y trouverez également d’autres outils qui vous permettront d’analyser vos données. Les instruments de mise en réseau Metagrid et GeoLinker sont aussi utiles pour les détenteurs de bases de données.

histHub a intégré OpenRefine dans le laboratoire parce que ce logiciel, qui permet de nombreuses applications, est apprécié et utilisé par de nombreuses personnes. L’installation d’un logiciel libre n’est pas toujours facile, surtout pour une institution. C’est pourquoi histHub propose OpenRefine dans une version pour navigateur. On trouve en outre dans le laboratoire une importante série de blogs avec des conseils et des instructions pour l’utilisation de ce logiciel.

Pour l’instant, on y trouve OpenRefine et NodeRed. Le laboratoire est une plateforme flexible destinée aux outils existants et adaptée aux besoins des utilisateurs. Par conséquent, l’offre s’élargira et évoluera au fil du temps. Vos suggestions sont les bienvenues.

Norm

Les notices d’autorité peuvent être téléchargées individuellement ou sous forme de fichier directement sur la page d’affichage des données.

Les notices d’autorité visibles dans histHub sont dotées d’un nombre minimal d’attributs et vérifiées par des spécialistes.

Oui. Les notices d’autorité de histHub sont contrôlées, fiables et sauvegardées de manière permanente. Chaque notice est dotée d’un identifiant permanent.

Load More